Capital: Montevideo

Population: 3,426,734 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Uruguayan Peso (UYU)

Official Language: Spanish

Unofficial Languages: Portunol, Brazilero, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: White, Black, Mestizo, Amerindian, and other minorities

Largest Cities: Montevideo, Salto, Paysandu, Las Piedras

Main Sport: Football, Basketball

Political System: Constitutional Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Carnival (February 8-9)

Maundy Thursday (March 24)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 27)

Landing of the 33 Orientals (April 19)

Labor Day (May 1)

José Artigas’ Birthday Memorial (June 19)

Constitution Day (July 18)

Independence Day (August 25)

All Saints’ Day (November 1)

Christmas (December 25)