Capital: Paramaribo

Population: 558,187 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Surinamese Dollar (SRD)

Official Language: Dutch

Unofficial Languages: English, Sranang Tongo, Caribbean Hindustani, Javanese, and others

Main Religions: Christianity, Hinduism

Ethnic Groups: Creole, Black, East Indians, Javanese, Amerindian, and others

Largest Cities: Paramaribo, Lelydorp, Brokopondo

Main Sport: Football, Basketball, Volleyball

Political System: Constitutional Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1) 

Chinese New Year (February 8)

Revolution Day (February 25)

Holi Phagwa (March 23)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 28)

Labor Day (May 1)

Emancipation Day (July 1)

Eid al-Fitr (July 7)

Indigenous Peoples Day (August 9)

Eid al-Adha (September 13)

Day of the Maroons (October 10)

Diwali (October 30)

Independence Day (November 25)

Christmas (December 25)