Capital: Buenos Aires

Population: 42,782,320 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Argentine Peso (ARS)

Official Language: Spanish

Unofficial Languages: English, German, Italian, French, other indigenous languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: White, Mestizo, Amerindian, and others

Largest Cities: Buenos Aires, Mendoza, San Miguel de Tucumán, La Plata

Main Sport: Football, Basketball, Rugby, Boxing, Tennis

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Carnival (February 8-9)

Memorial Day (March 24)

Good Friday (March 25)

Veterans’ Day (April 2)

Labor Day (May 1)

National Day/May 1810 Revolution (May 25)

Flag Day (June 20)

Independence Day (July 9)

San Martín Day (August 15)

Day of respect for cultural diversity (October 10)

National Sovereignty Day (November 28)

Feast of the Immaculate Conception (December 8)

Christmas (December 25)


Recent Posts: 

Buenos Aires, Argentina - Global Storybook

Vibrant Colors of Buenos Aires

And the award for the most colorful city in the World goes to...  Welcome to Buenos Aires! The city of ...
Read More
Buenos Aires: Top 10 Sights - Global Storybook

Buenos Aires: Top 10 Sights

Going to Buenos Aires on your first visit and need a quick introduction to this charming capital?  Read on!   Buenos ...
Read More