Capital: Wellington

Population: 4,591,400 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: New Zealand Dollar (NZD)

Official Languages: English, Maori

Unofficial Languages: Samoan, Hindi, French, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: European, Maori, Asian, Pacific, and others

Largest Cities: Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Manukau

Main Sport: Rugby, Cricket, Football, Basketball

Political System: Parliamentary Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Waitangi Day (February 6) 

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter Monday (March 28)

ANZAC Day (April 25)

Queen’s Birthday (June 6)

Labour Day (October 24)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)