Capital: South Tarawa

Population: 105,912 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Australian Dollar (AUD); Kiribati Dollar (KBD)

Official Languages: Kiribati, English

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Kiribati, Tuvaluan, and others

Largest Cities: Tarawa, Betio Village

Main Sport: Athletics, Football

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Women’s Day (March 8)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 28)

National Health Day (April 19)

Gospel Day (July 11)

Independence Day (July 12)

Unimwane Day (July 15)

Unaine Day (July 16)

Youth Day (August 5)

Human Rights and Peace Day (December 9)

Christmas (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)