Capital: Canberra

Population: 23,783,500 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Australian Dollar (AUD)

Official Language: English

Unofficial Languages: Mandarin, Cantonese, Italian, Vietnamese, Arabic, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Australian, English, Irish, Scottish, Italian, German, Chinese, Indian, Dutch, and others

Largest Cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth

Main Sport: Cricket, Rugby, Football

Political System: Commonwealth; Federal Parliamentary Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1-2)

Australia Day (January 26)

Canberra Day (March 14)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 26-28)

Anzac Day (April 25)

Queen’s Birthday (June 13)

Family and Community Day (September 26)

Labour Day (October 3)

Christmas Day (December 25, 27)

Boxing Day (December 26)