Capital: Ankara

Population: 77,717,793 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Turkish Lira (TRY)

Official Language: Turkish

Unofficial Languages: Kurdish, other minority languages

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Turkish, Kurdish, and other minorities

Largest Cities: Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Bursa, Adana

Main Sport: Football, Basketball, Volleyball

Political System: Republican Parliamentary Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

National Sovereignty and Children’s Day (April 23)

Labor and Solidarity Day (May 1)

Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day (May 19)

Ramadan Feast (July 5-7)

Victory Day (August 30)

Sacrifice Feast (September 12-15)

Republic Day (October 29)