Capital: Manama

Population: 1,472,483 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Bahraini Dinar (BHD)

Official Language: Arabic

Unofficial Languages: English, Farsi, Urdu

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Bahraini, Asian, other Arabs, European, African, and others

Largest Cities: Manama, Riffa, Muharraq

Main Sport: Football, Athletics

Political System: Constitutional Monarchy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

May Day (May 1)

Eid al-Fitr (July 7-9)

Eid al-Adha (September 13-17)

Muharram (October 3)

Ashoora (October 22-23)

The Prophet’s Birthday (December 12)

National Day (December 16-17)