Capital: Ljubljana

Population: 2,043,779 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Language: Slovenian

Unofficial Languages: Serbian, Croatian, Hungarian, Italian, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Slovene, Croat, Serb, Bosniak, and others

Largest Cities: Ljubljana, Maribor, Celje, Kranj

Main Sport: Football, Basketball, Ice Hockey, Skiing

Political System: Parliamentary Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Slovenian Cultural Festival – Prešeren Day (February 8)

Easter (March 27-28)

Uprising Against the Occupation Day (April 27)

Labor Day (May 1-2)

National Day (June 25)

Assumption of Mary (August 15)

Merging of Prekmurje Slovenians with the rest of Slovenia after World War I (August 17)

Merging of Primorska with the rest of Slovenia (September 15)

Reformation Day (October 31)

All Souls’ Day (November 1)

Rudolf Maister Day (November 23)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Independence and Unity Day (December 26)