Capital: Moscow

Population: 146,370,959 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Russian Ruble (RUB)

Official Language: Russian

Unofficial Languages: Tatar, Chechen, Ukrainian, and other ethnic, minority languages and dialects

Main Religion: Christianity (Orthodox)

Ethnic Groups: Russian, Tatar, Ukrainian, Chechen, Bashkir, and others

Largest Cities: Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Yekaterinburg

Main Sport: Ice Hockey, Football

Political System: Federation

National Holidays (2016):

New Year Holidays (January 1-8) 

Orthodox Christmas (January 7)

Old New Year (January 13-14)

Defenders of the Fatherland Day (February 23)

Special Operations Forces Day (February 27)

International Women’s Day (March 8)

Spring and Labour Holiday (May 1-2)

Victory Day (May 9)

Russia Day (June 12-13)

Unity Day (November 4)