Capital: Amsterdam

Population: 17,004,993 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Language: Dutch

Unofficial Languages: Various other ethnic and minority languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Dutch, other European, Moroccan, Turkish, and others

Largest Cities: Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht

Main Sport: Football, Tennis, Hockey

Political System: Constitutional Monarchy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Easter (March 28-29)

King’s Day (April 27)

Liberation Day (May 5)

Ascension Day (May 5)

Pentecost (May 15-16)

Sinterklaas (December 5)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)