Capital: Valletta

Population: 425,799 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Languages: Maltese, English

Unofficial Languages: Other minority languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Maltese, other minorities

Largest Cities: Birkirkara, Qormi, Mosta, Żabbar

Main Sport: Football, Rugby, Water Sports

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day​ (January 1)

Feast of St. Paul’s Shipwreck (February 10)

Feast of St. Joseph (March 19) 

Good Friday (March 25)

Freedom Day (March 31)

Worker’s Day (May 1)

Sette Giugno (June 7)

Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (June 29)

Feast of the Assumption (August 15)

Feast of Our Lady of Victories (September 8)

Independence Day (September 21)

Feast of the Immaculate Conception (December 8)

Republic Day (December 13)

Christmas (December 25)


Recent Posts: 

Comino, Malta

Malta – A Gem in the Mediterranean Sea

Malta was on my list for a very long time and finally in 2016 I visited the beautiful Maltese islands! ...
Read More