Capital: Dublin

Population: 4,841,943 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Languages: Irish, English

Unofficial Languages: Other minority languages and dialects

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Irish, Asian, Black, Mixed, and others

Largest Cities: Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway

Main Sport: Gaelic Football, Hurling, Horse Racing, Basketball, Handball

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

St. Patrick’s Day (March 17)

Easter Monday (March 28) 

May Day (May 2)

June Bank Holiday (June 6)

August Bank Holiday (August 1)

October Bank Holiday (October 31)

Christmas Day (December 25, 27)

St. Stephen’s Day (December 26)