Capital: Helsinki

Population: 5,430,232 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Languages: Finnish, Swedish

Unofficial Languages: Russian, and other minority languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Finn, Swede, Russian, Estonian, Sami, and others

Largest Cities: Helsinki, Espoo, Tampere, Vantaa

Main Sport: Pesäpallo, Ice Hockey

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Epiphany (January 6)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 27-28)

May Day (May 1)

Ascension Day (May 5)

Mother’s Day (May 8)

Whit Sunday (May 15)

Midsummer (June 25)

All Saints’ Day (November 5)

Independence Day (December 6)

Christmas Day (December 25)

St. Stephen’s Day (December 26)