Capital: Tirana

Population: 3,195,862 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Albanian Lek (ALL)

Official Language: Albanian

Unofficial Languages: Greek, Italian, Serbian, Croatian, and others

Main Religions: Islam, Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Albanian, Greek, Macedonian, Montenegrin, and others

Largest Cities: Tirana, Durres, Elbasan, Vlore

Main Sport: Football

Political System: Parliamentary Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1-3) 

Summer Day (March 14)

Nevruz Day (March 22)

Catholic Easter (March 27-28)

Orthodox Easter (May 1-2)

Labour Day (May 1)

Eid al-Fitr or End of Ramadan (July 7)

Eid al-Adha or Feast of Sacrifice (September 12)

Mother Teresa Beatification Day (October 19)

Flag and Independence Day (November 28)

Liberation Day (November 29)

National Youth Day (December 8)

Christmas Day (December 25-26)