Capital: Managua

Population: 6,257,028 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Nicaraguan Córdoba (NIO)

Official Language: Spanish

Unofficial Languages: English, Miskito, and other ethnic languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Mestizo, Amerindian, White, Black

Largest Cities: Managua, León, Masaya, Tipitapa, Chinandega

Main Sport: Baseball, Football

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Maundy Thursday (March 24)

Good Friday (March 25)

Labor Day (May 1)

The Sandinista Revolution Day (July 19)

Battle of San Jacinto (September 14)

Independence Day (September 15)

Feast of the Immaculate Conception (December 8)

Christmas (December 25)