Capital: Port of Spain

Population: 1,332,789 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Trinidad and Tobago Dollar (TTD)

Official Language: English

Unofficial Languages: Caribbean Hindustani (a dialect of Hindi), Spanish, French, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: East Indian, African, Mixed, and others

Largest Cities: Chaguanas, San Fernando, Port of Spain, Arima

Main Sport: Cricket, Football

Political System: Parliamentary Democracy

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Carnival (February 8-9)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Spiritual Baptist Liberation Day (March 30)

Corpus Christi (May 26)

Indian Arrival Day (May 30) 

Labor Day (June 19-20)

Eid-al-Fitr (July 7)

Emancipation Day (August 1)

Independence Day (August 31)

Republic Day (September 24)

Diwali/Deepavali (October 30)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)