Capital: San Juan

Population: 3,704,484 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: United States Dollar (USD)

Official Languages: Spanish, English

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: White, Black, Mixed, and others

Largest Cities: San Juan, Bayamón, Carolina, Ponce

Main Sport: Baseball, Basketball, Boxing

Political System: Commonwealth

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Three Kings Day or Epiphany (January 6) 

Eugenio María de Hostos Birthday (January 11)

Martin Luther King Birthday (January 18)

Presidents’ Day (February 15)

Emancipation Day (March 22)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter (March 27)

José de Diego Birthday (April 18)

Mother’s Day (May 8)

Memorial Day (May 30)

Independence Day (July 4)

Luis Muñoz Rivera’s Birthday (July 18)

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (July 25)

José Celso Barbosa Birthday (July 27)

Labor Day (September 5)

Columbus Day (October 12)

Discovery of Puerto Rico Day (November 19)

Thanksgiving Day (November 24)

Christmas Day (December 25)