Capital: Tashkent

Population: 30,909,905 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Uzbekistani Som (UZS)

Official Language: Uzbek

Unofficial Languages: Russian, Tajik, and others

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Uzbek, Russian, Tajik, Tatar, Kazakh, Karakalpak, and others

Largest Cities: Tashkent, Namangan, Samarkand, Andijan

Main Sport: Wrestling, Boxing, Football

Political System: Authoritarian Presidential Rule

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Defenders of the Motherland Day (January 14)

International Women’s Day (March 8)

Navruz (March 21)

Day of Memory and Remembrance (May 9)

Eid al-Fitr (July 7)

Independence Day (September 1)

Eid al-Adha (September 11)

Teachers’ Day (October 1)

Constitution Day (December 8)