Capital: Ashgabat

Population: 5,412,453 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Turkmenistan Manat (TMT)

Official Languages: Turkmen, Russian

Unofficial Languages: Uzbek, other minority, ethnic languages

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Turkmen, Uzbek, Russian, and others

Largest Cities: Ashgabat, Turkmenabat, Dasoguz, Mary

Main Sport: Chess, Hockey, Football, Athletics, Boxing

Political System: Authoritarian Presidential Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1) 

Memorial Day (January 12)

National Flag Day (February 19)

International Women’s Day (March 8)

National Spring Holiday (March 21-22)

Victory Day (May 9)

Constitution Day (May 18)

Eid al-Fitr (July 7)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 13-15)

Day of Remembrance of the victims of the earthquake in 1948 (October 6)

Independence Day (October 27-28)

Neutrality Day (December 12)