Capital: Colombo

Population: 21,098,161 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Sri Lankan rupee (LKR)

Official Languages: Sinhala, English, Tamil

Unofficial Languages: Other minority languages

Main Religion: Buddhism

Ethnic Groups: Sinhalese, Sri Lankan Tamil, Sri Lankan Moors, Indian Tamil, and others

Largest Cities: Colombo, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia, Galkissa

Main Sport: Cricket, Rugby, Football, Water Sports

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Tamil Thai Pongal Day (January 15)

Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day (January 23) 

National Day (February 4)

Navam Full Moon Poya Day (February 22)

Mahashivratri (March 7)

Medin Full Moon Poya Day (March 22)

Good Friday (March 25)

Labour Day (May 1)

Vesak (Buddha’s Birthday) (May 14)

Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) (July 7)

Esala and the Poson Full Moon Poya Day (July 19)

Nikini Full Moon Poya Day (August 17)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 13)

Binara Full Moon Poya Day (September 16)

Vap Full Moon Poya Day (October 16)

Diwali (Festival of Lights) (October 29)

Il Full Moon Poya Day (November 14)

Milad un Nabi (Birth of the Prophet Muhammad) (December 12)

Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day (December 13)

Christmas Day (December 25)