Capital: Astana

Population: 17,061,704 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Kazakhstani Tenge (KZT)

Official Languages: Kazakh (Qazaq), Russian

Unofficial Languages: Other ethnic, minority dialects

Main Religions: Islam, Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Kazakh or Qazaq, Russian, Uzbek, Ukrainian, Tatar, Uighur, and others

Largest Cities: Almaty, Karagandy, Shymkent, Taraz, Astana

Main Sport: Football, Boxing, Wrestling

Political System: Authoritarian Presidential Rule

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Holiday (January 1-2)

Orthodox Christmas (January 7)

International Women’s Day (March 8) 

Nauryz Holiday (March 21-23)

Unity Day (May 1)

Defender’s Day (May 7)

Victory Day (May 9)

Capital City Day (July 6)

Constitution Day (August 30)

Kurban Bairam (Feast of Sacrifice (September 13)

First President Day (December 1)

Independence Day (December 16-17)