Capital: Jakarta

Population: 258,097,287 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Indonesian Rupiah (IDR)

Official Language: Bahasa Indonesia

Unofficial Languages: English, Dutch, and other local dialects

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Javanese, Sundanese, Batak, Malay, Madurese, Betawi, Banjarese, Minangkabau, Buginese, Balinese, Bantenese, and others

Largest Cities: Jakarta, Surabaya, Medan, Bandung

Main Sport: Badminton, Football, Martial Arts

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Chinese New Year (February 8)

Bali’s Day of Silence, and Nyepi (Hindu New Year) (March 9)

Good Friday (March 25)

Labour Day (May 1)

Ascension Day (Jesus Christ) (May 5)

Lailat al Miraj (Ascension of the Prophet) (May 6)

Waisak Day (May 22)

Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) (July 6-7)

Independence Day (August 17)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of the Sacrifice) (September 12)

Islamic New Year (October 2)

Mouloud (Birth of the Prophet) (December 12)

Christmas (December 25)