Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan

Population: 442,162 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Brunei Dollar (BND)

Official Language: Malay

Unofficial Languages: English, other Chinese dialects

Main Religions: Islam, Christianity, Buddism

Ethnic Groups: Malay, Chinese, and others

Largest Cities: Bandar Seri Begawan, Kuala Belait, Seria, Tutong

Main Sport: Football, Martial Arts, Silat

Political System: Constitutional Sultanate (MIB: Malay Islamic Monarchy)

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Chinese New Year (February 8)

National Day (February 23)

Israk Mikraj (Night of Ascension) (May 5)

Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day (May 31)

Start of Ramadan (June 6)

Hari Raya Aidil Fitri (End of Ramadan) (July 7)

H.M. the Sultan’s Birthday (July 15)

Hari Raya Aidil Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 11)

Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year) (October 2)

Christmas Day (December 25)