Capital: Baku

Population: 9,614,368 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Azerbaijani Manat (AZN)

Official Language: Azerbaijani

Unofficial Languages: Russian, Armenian

Main Religion: Islam

Ethnic Groups: Azerbaijani, Lezgian, Russian, Armenian, and others

Largest Cities: Baku, Ganja, Sumqayit, Lankaran

Main Sport: Wrestling, Football, Chess

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Women’s Day (March 8)

Novruz (March 20-24)

Victory Over Facism Day (May 9)

Republic Day (May 28)

National Salvation Day (June 15)

Armed Forces Day (June 26)

Ramadan (July 7-8)

Eid Al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 13)

Independence Day (October 18)

Flag Day (November 9)

Constitution Day (November 12)

Revival Day (November 17)

Solidarity Day (December 31)