Capital: Yerevan

Population: 2,976,571 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Armenian Dram (AMD)

Official Language: Armenian

Unofficial Languages: Kurdish, other ethnic languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Armenian, Yezidi or Kurd

Largest Cities: Yerevan, Gyumri, Vanadzor

Main Sport: Football, Chess, Wrestling, Boxing

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year Holidays (January 1-4)

Orthodox Christmas Eve and Orthodox Christmas Day (January 5-6)

National Army Day (January 28)

Women’s Day (March 8)

Easter Sunday (March 27)

Genocide Remembrance Day (April 24)

Labour Day (May 1)

Victory and Peace Day (May 9)

Republic Day (May 28)

Vardavar (July 3)

Constitution Day (July 5)

Independence Day (September 21)

New Year’s Eve (December 31)