Capital: Lusaka

Population: 15,880,441 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Zambian Kwacha (ZMK)

Official Language: English

Unofficial Languages: Bembe, Tonga, Nyanja, Lozi, Nsenga, Chewa, Tumbuka, Lamba, Lunda, Kaonde, Lala, Luvale, Mambwe, and others

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Bemba, Tonga, Chewa, Lozi, Nsenga, Tumbuka, Ngoni, Namwanga, Lala, Kaonde, Lunda, Luvale, Mambwe, Lamba, and others

Largest Cities: Lusaka, Kitwe, Ndol, Kabwe, Chingola

Main Sport: Football

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Women’s Day (March 8)

Youth Day (March 12)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Labour Day (May 1) 

Africa Freedom Day (May 25)

Heroes’ Day (July 6)

Unity Day (July 7)

Farmers’ Day (August 1)

Independence Day (October 24)

Christmas Day (December 25)