Capital: Pretoria

Population: 55,279,654 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: South African Rand (ZAR)

Official Languages: English, Afrikaans, Zulu, Zhosa, Tsonga, Swati, Ndebele, Venda, Sotho, Tswana

Unofficial Languages: Other ethnic, tribal languages

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Black and White Africans

Largest Cities: Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Soweto

Main Sport: Football, Rugby, Cricket

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Human Rights Day (March 21)

Good Friday (March 25)

Family Day (March 28)

Freedom Day (April 27)

Workers’ Day (May 1)

“Public Holiday” (May 2)

Youth Day (June 16)

National Women’s Day (August 9)

Heritage Day (September 24)

Day of Reconciliation (December 16)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Day Of Goodwill (December 26)