Capital: Mogadishu

Population: 10,864,733 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Somali Shilling (SOS)

Official Languages: Somali, Arabic

Unofficial Languages: Italian, English

Main Religion: Islam (Sunni Muslim)

Ethnic Groups: Somali, Bantu, and others

Largest Cities: Mogadishu, Hargeysa, Berbera, Kismayo

Main Sport: Football, Basketball

Political System: Currently building a Federal Parliamentary Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Labour Day (May 1)

Independence Day (June 26)

Republic Day (July 1)

Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) (July 7)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 13)

Ashura (October 12)

Milad un Nabi (Birth of the Prophet Muhammad) (December 12)