Capital: Saint-Denis

Population: 877,417 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Official Language: French

Unofficial Languages: Creole, Comorian, Malagasy

Main Religion: Christianity

Ethnic Groups: French, African, Malagasy, Chinese, Indian, Pakistani

Largest Cities: Saint-Denis, Saint-Paul, Saint-Pierre

Main Sport: Football

Political System: Dependent Territory

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Labour Day (May 1)

Ascension Day (May 5)

WWII Victory Day (May 8)

Whit Monday (May 16)

Bastille Day (July 14)

Assumption of Mary (August 15)

All Saints’ Eve (November 1)

Armistice Day (November 16)

Abolition of Slavery (December 20)

Christmas Day (December 25)