Capital: Abuja

Population: 182,307,178 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Nigerian Naira (NGN)

Official Language: English

Unofficial Languages: Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba, Fulani, other indigenous languages

Main Religions: Islam, Christianity

Ethnic Groups: more than 250 different ethnic groups, including: Hausa, Fulani, Yoruba, Ijaw, Igbo or Ibo, Kanuri, Tiv, Ibibio

Largest Cities: Lagos, Kano, Ibadan, Kaduna, Port Harcourt

Main Sport: Football, Rugby

Political System: Federal Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Worker’s Day (May 1)

Democracy Day (May 29)

Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) (July 7)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of the Sacrifice) (September 11)

Independence Day (October 1)

Eid el-Maulud (Prophet’s Birthday) (December 12)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)