Capital: Maputo

Population: 27,759,086 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Metical (MZN)

Official Language: Portuguese

Unofficial Languages: Emakhuwa, Xichangana, Elomwe, Echuwabo, Cisena, and other tribal languages

Main Religions: Christianity, Islam

Ethnic Groups: Makhuwa, Tsonga, Sena, Lomwe, Europeans, and others

Largest Cities: Maputo, Matola, Beira, Nampula

Main Sport: Football, Athletics

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Mozambican Heroes Day (February 3)

Mozambican Women’s Day (April 7)

May Day (May 1)

Independence Day (July 25)

Victory Day (September 7)

Armed Forces Day (September 25)

Peace and Reconciliation Day (October 4)

Christmas Day (December 25)