Capital: Nairobi

Population: 47,588,092 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: Kenyan Shilling (KES)

Official Languages: Swahili, English

Unofficial Languages: other indigenous languages

Main Religions: Christianity, Islam

Ethnic Groups: Kikuyu, Luhya, Luo, Kalenjin, Meru, Kamba, Kisii, and others

Largest Cities: Nairobi, Mombasa, Nakuru, Eldoret

Main Sport: Athletics, Football, Cricket, Rugby

Political System: Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Year’s Day (January 1)

Good Friday (March 25)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Labour Day (May 1)

Madaraka Day (June 1)

Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) (July 7)

Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) (September 13)

Mashujaa Day (October 20)

Independence Day (December 12)

Christmas Day (December 25)

Boxing Day (December 26)