Capital: Ouagadougou

Population: 18,587,264 (estimated in 2015)

Currency: West African CFA Franc (XOF)

Official Language: French

Unofficial Languages: Native African languages

Main Religions: Islam, Christianity

Ethnic Groups: Mossi, Gurma, Fulani, Gurunsi, Bissa, Bobo, Senufo, Lobi, Dagara, Tuareg, Dioula

Largest Cities: Ouagadougou, Bobo-Dioulasso, Koudougou, Ouahigouya

Main Sport: Football, Cycling, Rugby, Basketball, Handball

Political System: Parliamentary Republic

National Holidays (2016):

New Years Day (January 1)

Easter Monday (March 28)

Labour Day (May 1)

Ascension (May 5)

Eid al-Fitr (July 7)

Assumption of Mary (August 15)

Eid al-Adha (July 7)

All Saints’ Eve (November 1)

The Prophet’s Birthday (December 12)

Christmas Dat (December 25)